The Architect’s Council, founded in 1967, for the purpose of uniting the voices of architects affecting the practice of the Architectural and Design Industry from regulatory processes of various quasi-governmental agencies within the boundary of New York City.  The New York Society of Architects, along with the Brooklyn Society of Architects and the American Institute of Architects, Brooklyn Chapter established a coalition of design organizations as the voice of its constituents, and it acts as the umbrella organization representing the architectural community of New York City.

The Architects Council worked in a collaborative effort with various public agencies in assuring the rules and regulations affecting the Health, Safety and Welfare were properly implemented to benefit all affected industries: Government, Architectural Profession and Construction. The American Institute of Architects Bronx Chapter and Queens Chapter joined the coalition followed by New York Chapter. In 2010, the New York Council of the Society of American Registered Architects known as SARA NY became a member of ACNY. 

The Architects Council, completing its fifty-second Anniversary, continues its tradition of affirming architectural heritage and dedication to advance the voice of the architectural professional and address any or all local and legislative issues.

ACNY vows to represent all members united as a one voice, expressing concerns affecting the practice of Architecture and Architectural licensing.  At its inception, ACNY represented all registered Architects practicing within the boundary of New York City. This common core has been expanded to include Architectural candidates for licensing until today. 


The Architects Council is dedicated to unify and coordinate the voices of all Architects affected by Legislative, Policies, Procedure Actions and Professional Licensing Regulations within the boundaries of New York City.  


Sebastian D’Alessandro

Kim Vauss

Mark Kaplan

John Scheschareg

Michael Macaluso​

Michael Zenreich

Gaetano Ragusa

Steven Calvanico

Gaetano Ragusa

Laurence Werfel​

Steven Calvanico

Andrew Antoniades

Frank Lo Presto

James G. Howie

Ira. M. Sherman

William Sachs

Roger L. McCarthy

Louis Liberman

Millard Bresin

M. Milton Glass

Philip Agusta

Don Weston

Herbert Epstein

Guerino Salerni

H.I. Feldman

Richard Roth, Sr.

Charles M. Spindler

Harry A. Yarish

Kenneth W. Milnes

M.W. Del Gaudio

Welcome to ACNY

Robert Strong

Victor Han

Ray Peebles

Gaetano Ragusa

Raymond Mellon

Welcome to the Architects Council of New York,

a coalition of New York City's architectural organizations. 

You will find:

A definition of ACNY, its history, its board of director and current events.

Information about ACNY's constituent members located throughout all

five boroughs.

Current city and state agency building information and

updates on architectural licensing requirements.


Vice President:



Legal Counsel: